Re: Merge Codes

Closed Forum - older posts now retired. This forum is read only. You can search and view posts in this forum but you cannot reply or create new posts in this forum.
Anonymous User

Re: Merge Codes

#11

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Apr 13, 2009 3:34 pm

If you want a linefeed between the name and firm you need to do the following:

CHANGE THIS:

iif(empty(card2.firm), "", ", " + trim(card2.firm))

TO THIS

iif(empty(card2.firm), "", RichCRLF(chr(13) + chr(10)) + trim(card2.firm))

Law Offices of George Henderson
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 1:31 pm

Re: Merge Codes

#12

Post by Law Offices of George Henderson » Wed Apr 15, 2009 10:13 am

It works! Thanks. So if for some reason I need to do something like that again, I can just paste RichCRLF(chr(13) + chr(10)) exactly how you used it?

Anonymous User

Re: Merge Codes

#13

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Apr 15, 2009 4:24 pm

Yes - you are correct. That will insert a linefeed in a code between text.

Mike

Law Offices of George Henderson
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 1:31 pm

Re: Merge Codes

#14

Post by Law Offices of George Henderson » Fri Apr 17, 2009 8:26 am

Is there a way I can have the firm tab once? In the medical appointment letter that we use the code, the firm merges in like this:

Doctor name
doctor firm
address
Phone number

We need all of it to be aligned.

Anonymous User

Re: Merge Codes

#15

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Apr 17, 2009 10:50 am

I'm not understanding what you mean. Do you want the firm to be tabbed in the document? If it is an A1-Law letter then you can do it one of two ways. Either use a table or if you want the entire firm name and address moved over then you can just highlight the entire code and change the left margin by dragging the marker on the rulerbar while that code is highlighted. Otherwise, if you only want the firm indented in then you can

CHANGE THIS:

iif(empty(card2.firm), "", ", " + trim(card2.firm))

TO THIS'

iif(empty(card2.firm), "", ", " + CHR(9) + trim(card2.firm))

Mike

Law Offices of George Henderson
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 1:31 pm

Re: Merge Codes

#16

Post by Law Offices of George Henderson » Fri Apr 17, 2009 2:35 pm

info merges like this(for the tabs in my previous post I used spaces but I guess it got rid of it when I posted it):
----------Doctor name
doctor firm
----------address
----------Phone number

---------- is supposed to be a tab.

I actually needed the firm to tab twice. Here is the code I used:
iif(empty(card2.firm), "", RichCRLF(chr(13) + chr(10)) + CHR(9) + CHR(9) + trim(card2.firm))
I just put CHR(9) twice. It worked.

Anonymous User

Re: Merge Codes

#17

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Apr 17, 2009 3:03 pm

Yes - that will work but a table will also work (probably even better to use a table with 3 columns where the first column is empty and just used like tab fields).

Mike

Law Offices of George Henderson
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 1:31 pm

Re: Merge Codes

#18

Post by Law Offices of George Henderson » Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:36 am

For our full caption, I added the EAMS code. But it never aligns with the other things. Here is the code we have:
{FieldName = RE1
RE: >> vs. >>
WCAB: >
EAMS: >
Claim #: >
DOI: >
Our Case #: >}

The EAMs numbers merge like this:
EAMS:ADJ1234567,ADJ1234567

I tried adding a tab to the code and it merges with 2 tabs. What would I need to do to have it aligned with the other info?

Anonymous User

Re: Merge Codes

#19

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:52 am

Use a Table with 3 columns and a row for the RE line, a row for the WCAB line, etc (3 columns and 6 rows). Click the O button in the lower right corner for Other Features and Add a table and the first column is empty as the tab and the second column contains the RE in row #1, WCAB: in row 2, etc and the third column contains the codes.

Mike

Law Offices of George Henderson
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 1:31 pm

Re: Merge Codes

#20

Post by Law Offices of George Henderson » Wed May 20, 2009 11:17 am

We have the RE line in a table but now the DOI doesn't line up. All the tables are lined up. When I test it on the edit tab, it shows it lined up. But when we do actual letters, it doesn't line up. How can I fix that problem?

Post Reply